sugarmitten

Plasma Plays In 21 Ways – 1, 2 & 3 Plus The Best White Polish! April 14, 2012

ourpaintedworld has been playing along with this challenge for a little while now and I’ve been loving it! I’m always intrigued by these nail polish challenges but they are so long or kind of boring or whatever but this one seemed really fun. I especially like how PlasmaSpeedo built on existing manicures rather than starting fresh each day.

Here’s the list:

Plasma Plays in 21 Ways

1 Rock a Nude Shade
2 Add a Layer of Shimmer/Glitter/Anything You Choose, To That Nude
3 Polka Dots (get creative, do multi colors, do it over the nude from before or change your base color, go monochromatic) So many options!
4 Execute a half moon manicure!
5 Go dark
6 Stamp some metallic polish over that dark with the image plate of your choice!
7 Do a gradient of 2 colors or more (check YT for different kinds of techniques)
8 Get your stripe on. Vertical, horizontal, diagonal, one, two, seven?! oh what to do!
9 Ruffian! Example http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaEdVmxjtbE 
10 Ombre nails
11 Pick a color you’ve never worn (I’m hoping I’m not the only one with untrieds) lol
12 Pick a green
13 Add a layer of polish over that green that you think doesn’t go with it! (orange glitter?) be creative! Get ugly! 
14 Today, we will wear blues!
15 Grab a straw and do some paint splatters over that blue! One color, multicolored, whichever you please! If you don’t know what I’m talking about, see this tutorial http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqiCfnXWw9Y
16 Wear a pink
17 Add flowers to that pink *stamps, one-stroke, dotted flowers* you choose!
18 Wear a purple
19 Add a chevron (those triangles) to your purple! Use scotch tape if you need help! http://www.nailnerd.com/chevron-nails/
20 Go yellow
21 Finally, add a black stamp to that yellow

#1 Rock a Nude Shade I used Color Club Nomadic in Nude from the Back to Boho Collection which I’ve already swatched HERE. I really wanted to use Deborah Lippmann Naked which I have on order but my entire order is back ordered and I have no idea when I am going to get it so I just went ahead with this one.

This color is definitely more on the taupe side of nude so it isn’t the best nude for me. I am on the hunt for the best nude. I spent a good chunk of time in Sephora the other day trying on a bunch of nudes. Anyone have any suggestions for a nude that would suit my skin tone? Hopefully the Deborah Lippmann will work when it eventually gets here but I would love to hear your suggestions in until then.

#2 Add a Layer of Shimmer/Glitter/Anything You Choose, To That Nude I added OPI I Juggle…Men from the 2011 Soft Shades Collection (Femme de Circue). I Juggle…Men is a very subtle blue/purple micro glitter and doesn’t pic up well on camera.

#3 Polka Dots (get creative, do multi colors, do it over the nude from before or change your base color, go monochromatic) So many options! I came across a picture on Pinterest but it unfortunately wasn’t pinned properly and I can’t find the source 😦 It was pinned from fuckyeahnailart but not from the actual post so I wasn’t able to find the original post with the source. HERE is the pin from Pinterest, if anyone knows the source please let me know so I can update this. I feel horrible not giving credit where credit is due.

I used Zoya Purity for the white dots and I added another coat of OPI I Juggle…Men over top.

Zoya Purity is an amazing white polish! It is streak free, applies very smooth, and is completely opaque in two coats. It is a pure, bright white. Below pictures are with 2 coats of Purity, no topcoat.

Please don’t forget to vote! You can vote every 24 hours. Just click on the photo below.

 

6 Responses to “Plasma Plays In 21 Ways – 1, 2 & 3 Plus The Best White Polish!”

  1. mchichester Says:

    Love the polka dots! Also, that Purity polish is so cute! I love white polish!

  2. sjbkk Says:

    That is indeed a lovely looking white polish! I like the dots, too 🙂

  3. I’m always looking for the perfect white!!! Can’t wait to get my hands on Purity to give it a try! 🙂
    Love your nude with the faint shimmer and white dots!!!! YAY!

  4. Wow that white nail polish is amazing! I need that in my collection!


Leave a comment