sugarmitten

Confetti Dots Tutorial (Pic Heavy) May 2, 2012

A pretty quick and simple tutorial using tape and dotting tools.

Essie Absolutely Shore is from the Summer 2011 Braziliant Collection. It’s a very pale mint green.

I started with 2 coats of Essie Absolutely Shore and 1 coat of Seche Vite. I always like to use Seche Vite before tape because it keeps the tape from lifting the polish.

Place your tape making sure you don’t have any bubbles. I use striping tape but you can also use scotch tape. I find the striping tape much easier to work with and the results are usually much better. I got 10 different colors of striping tape on ebay for less than $2 including shipping. Just search ebay for “nail art striping tape”.

Apply the next polish (I used Essie Tart Deco).

Remove the tape immediately after painting the nail while the polish is still wet. You can see the edges of Tart Deco pulled up a bit and that’s because it was starting to dry since I was taking pictures between steps. The faster you get the tape up the cleaner your line will be. If it just pulls up a little bit like mine did it should smooth out when you add the top coat.

Next add dots in varying sizes (the color shown is OPI No Room For The Blues). I used my smallest dotting tool but you can also use a toothpick, hair pin, push pin, sewing needle, etc.

Choose another color and add more dots in various sizes. I used OPI Sparrow Me The Drama.

Choose a third color and add more dots! My third color choice was Sinful Colors Unicorn.

On my thumb and ring finger I added a “V” instead of a stripe.

Let it dry a little while before adding top coat so you don’t smear your dots.

This reminds me of decorations for a child’s birthday party.

 

15 Responses to “Confetti Dots Tutorial (Pic Heavy)”

  1. normandlou Says:

    This look so great!!!

  2. everysensory Says:

    Love this! Another one to try when I get me hands on some striping tape *runs off to search ebay* – thanks for the tutoral!

  3. Tina B Says:

    You are so right it actually reminds me of a vintage party decoration! Very pretty 🙂

  4. Mom Says:

    Love it!!

  5. am1ec Says:

    Ohhhhh ahhhhh ❤

  6. wickednails Says:

    Looks great! I love the fun dots. And I finally just bought striping tape! (So much for not buying this week…I’ll start tomorrow I suppose!) Happy Monday! ❤

  7. kat Says:

    this is so cute!


Leave a comment