sugarmitten

Neon Taping Tutorial March 30, 2012

Start by painting stripes (vertical or horizontal will work). This doesn’t have to be perfect, it will be covered up later. I was suffering from a migraine when I was doing this which caused me to have very shaky hands and the stripes show it but it really doesn’t matter. So if you don’t have steady hands this might be the perfect thing for you to try.

Then place striping tape in various directions all over the nail.

Go over the entire nail with black nail polish. Carefully remove the striping tape immediately.

The finished result will look something like this:

 

25 Responses to “Neon Taping Tutorial”

  1. everysensory Says:

    Love this! Wow, thanks for the tutorial, I’ll going to give this a go later 🙂

  2. normandlou Says:

    Looks so good! I tried something very similar last week, but the neon hadn’t dried enough, and I was too annoyed to start over! Yours looks great!!!

    • sugarmitten Says:

      Thank you! I applied Seche Vite in between the neon step and the taping step, I maybe should have added that to the tutorial…oops! But I find that when I do Seche before tape it helps a ton!

  3. normandlou Says:

    Yes. THat’s what I usually do. I waited a really long time, but the neon green I had stayed soft forever apparently! I will have to rry again now that I see how deadly yours look!

  4. normandlou Says:

    I tried another scotch tape manicure today! Fail!! I clearly lack the patience need for them! Ha!

    • sugarmitten Says:

      Oh no!! I had some fails before I had good ones. Keep trying! I think the striping tape works a lot better than scotch tape. I still use scotch tape depending on the design but I typically get better results when I use the striping tape. I got my striping tape on ebay. I got 10 colors for less than $2 including shipping. It’s not nearly as sticky as scotch tape so that helps. I’m trying to think if I have any other pointers that I have found helpful…

  5. Mom Says:

    Oh Jeez now I have to learn how to use tape!!!

  6. Amanda (Mae) Says:

    This looks amazing! Adorable!!

  7. uuuu I love this! I’m for sure going to have to try this 🙂 I love the colors you choose! where did you get the striping tape? about hom much was it?

    • sugarmitten Says:

      I got it on ebay (search for nail art striping tape). It was under $2 including shipping. I can’t really recommend the person that I bought it from because it took much longer than they said it would (almost 2 1/2 months). But there are tons of other sellers on ebay with the same thing so maybe you will have better luck with someone else. They do ship from China so it takes time to clear customs and all but 2 1/2 months was a but much.

  8. normandlou Says:

    Yes. I have looked at the striping tape. It’s purely just impatatience. I’ll get it one day.

  9. NailDays Says:

    The look really awesome! I keep trying something similar, but with random splodges of color underneath – Problem is because I don’t have striping tape, I use scotch stuff instead but it’s always too think… Anyways, very nice design 🙂

  10. megis217 Says:

    so pretty!
    -Megan

  11. Lulu Says:

    WOW that is an awesome tape mani!!! I love how it looks like a rainbow underneath.

  12. I’m sorry to read about your migraine! Your nails are amazing and loved seeing how it was done! xo


Leave a comment