sugarmitten

My First Julep Maven Box With Swatches March 21, 2012

The Julep Maven March 2012 It Girl Box

Charlotte (1 coat, no top coat):

Described by Julep.com as: “Demure lavender creme. Sophisticated with a twist.” I was very impressed with the opacity of Charlotte, one coat was all it took for this one. It was super shiny, the shiniest of the bunch. Very pretty color but nothing exciting.

Jodie (2 coats, no top coat):

Described by Julep.com as: “Deep rose with a golden shimmer.” And that’s exactly what it is! This is not a color that I would normally be drawn to or ever pick out for myself so I was surprised that I actually liked it.

Melissa (2 coats, no top coat):

Described by Julep.com as: “Sheer opalescent shimmer adds a soft glow when used alone and a high-fashion holographic effect when used over another color.”

1 coat of Melissa over 1 coat of Charlotte:

I really like the effect of Melissa over Charlotte!

1 coat of Melissa over 2 coats of Jodie:

I wasn’t as crazy about Melissa over Jodie.

I am still a little undecided on whether I want to continue with the Julep Maven program. I subscribed this month because I got the box for a penny with the code MARCHINTRO (might still be valid?). I did like the formulas and the quality seems good. I’m not crazy about the bottles, since they are tall and skinny I was worried they were going to tip over while I was using them. I also prefer a round handle, I feel like it fits in my hand better than these square ones. The brush itself was OK, I prefer the wide OPI brushes over other brands. I do not think these polishes are worth the $14 that they retail for. They are only 0.27 fl OZ, most polishes are 0.5 fl OZ. But with the Julep Maven box you get 3 polishes plus bonus items for $20 so they are under $7 a piece.

Decisions decisions! Can anyone give me some advice? Have you subscribed to Julep Maven and cancelled? Are you currently subscribed and happy? Thinking about cancelling? Considering subscribing? Help!

 

2 Responses to “My First Julep Maven Box With Swatches”

  1. I’m subcribed and I skip every month. I think it’s too expensive! I hold out for when they have mystery boxes. I got one for st. p;atricks day and loved it! I would say if you’re interested in hearing theyre promotions (like the mystery boxes) or sales, stay in it, just don’t forget to skip each month so you dont get charged!

    • sugarmitten Says:

      That is such a great idea! I never thought of doing that! That way I can see what the colors are going to be and then decide if I want to receive them or not. I kind of want the April box so I think I will get this one and then start skipping. When they do the mystery boxes do you get to pick that instead of your regular box or is it a separate charge?


Leave a comment